Yeees! Gerrinthere Andy Murray!

It’s well past two in the morning, and I’ve just watched Andy Murray win the US Open tennis championship, and enjoyed it tremendously.  A fine topping to a terrific evening.  Just what the doctor ordered.  It’s amazing what a few beers in a new place, with some new folk, followed by the success of a fellow Scot, can do for ones mood.

I was roped in this evening to fill in for a missing player in a local pub darts team.  Darts is not completely alien to me, as there is dartboard at home, and I was a member of a team when I lived in Rothesay that won the New Year’s Shield, some 10 years or so.  The match tonight was in a pub called the Revenue, and we lost, with me winning one game and losing another.  They were a great bunch of lads, and I had a highly enjoyable evening.  Following that, we retired to the Fortescue, where I shared a drink with another delightful group, including some lovely ladies, and even a particularly lovely lady.  She even touched my arm, by jings!  And if that wasn’t nice, I don’t know what is….

And from there it was home to watch the final set and a half of the tennis, via an excellent free live stream a friend had pointed me to, while playing Romanza on my guitar, slightly intoxicated.  At 4-2 I knew Andy had won it.  It was great to see a Scottish success story, to alleviate the gloom from Saturday’s Serbian debacle.  And I’m claiming Andy as Scottish, not British, ye ken?  😉

Well done, Andy.  Fred who?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

